Maine Psychological Association (MePA) Policy Council Members are elected by the membership to serve the Association. Policy Council members are leaders within MePA who are recognized as having experience, insight, and perspective on issues that are important to the Association.

By accepting this position, members agree to the commitment of time, energy, and effort required to fulfill Policy Council responsibilities including the establishment of policies, priorities, goals and objectives that align with the Mission Statement and By-laws. 

Audit Committee: reviews fiscal policies and documents.

By-laws: reviews and redrafts MePA bylaws for membership votes.

Compensation Committee: reviews the compensation of staff.

Continuing Education: oversees all Continuing Education initiatives for MePA including the annual conference and at-home continuing education opportunities.

Early Career Psychologist Committee: provides support, activities and information to psychologists beginning their careers.

Ethics: focuses on education about ethics and other topics relevant to today’s practitioner. The Committee also provides consultations to MePA members about ethical issues related to the practice and conduct of psychologists.

Legislative: responsible for monitoring issues affecting psychologists at the State House and in state government.  The Committee also develops MePA’s annual legislative agenda and supervises the work of the MePA lobbyist. 

Membership: responsible for maintaining a vibrant MePA membership, providing opportunities for prospective and new members to maintain close ties to the Association.

Peace and Social Justice: provides guidance to MePA on topics of social concern and has represented MePA in matters such anti-discrimination initiatives, peace rallies, and reproductive rights for women.  

Public Education: educates the public on issues that affect both psychology and the public.  Topics covered include the mind/body connection, fostering resilience, and school violence. The Committee also works closely with the Legislative Committee on issues pending at the State House.

Healthy Workplace: responsible for nominating Maine businesses for the APA’s Psychologically Healthy Workplace (PHW) Award based on the criteria of employee involvement, growth and development, health and safety, and recognition.  

Reimbursement Oversight   (ROC): receives feedback from members about concerns with third party payers to discuss solutions, act as an intervenor with insurance companies, and meet with officials from the Bureau of Insurance.

Technology Committee: oversees the website and social media to support the mission of the organization.